On April 11, 2018 the Illinois Senate passed the Equal Rights Amendment, Senate Joint Resolution Constitution Amendment 4 (SJRCA4). The ERA was introduced to the states in 1972. An objective reading of the language and history of the ERA makes clear that expansion of abortion rights has always been a principle objective of the ERA proponents. In 1983 when Congress attempted to re-introduce the ERA to the states, the proponents of the ERA rejected proposed abortion neutral language. The writings of Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg reveal the intended scope of the ERA is to greatly increase the scrutiny of pro-life legislation.
A vote for the ERA is a vote for overturning abortion restrictions and enshrining abortion rights in the US Constitution. A vote for the ERA is also a vote against unborn women. State court judges have held that their state ERAs mandate “HB40” style taxpayer funding of elective abortions. The ERA further threatens parental notification and consent laws throughout the country, along with every reasonable regulation on abortion.
The fight now goes to the House. The Illinois Federation for Right to Life PAC, Illinoisans Citizens for Life PAC, Illinois Family Action PAC, Illinois Family PAC, and Lake County Life PAC will not endorse or support any legislator that casts a vote for such a sweeping pro-abortion piece of legislation as the ERA.
On April 11, 2018, eight Republican Senators voted for the ERA. Pro-life Illinois deserve political leaders who will clearly commit to the protection of innocent unborn children, and who will follow through on that commitment.
Senator Pamela Althoff (R), Senator Michael Connelly (R), Senator Karen McConnaughay, (R), Senator Jason A. Barickman (R), Senator John F, Curran (R), Senator Chris Nybo (R), Senator Sue Rezin (R), and Senator Tom Rooney (R) all voted for the ERA. While we are disappointed with all 43 Senators who voted for abortion, we are gravely disturbed by those who solicited pro-life support and presented themselves as pro-life but voted for the ERA. Their vote was a vote in opposition to life and will not be ignored by the undersigned.

Dawn Behnke, Chairman                                                                             Ralph Rivera, Chairman
Illinois Federation for Right to Life PAC                                                       Illinois Citizens for Life PAC

Bonnie Quirke, President

Lake County Life PAC

David Smith, Executive Director                                                                   Elise Bouc, Founder
Illinois Family Action PAC                                                                             Illinois-Stop ERA

Reverend Robert Vanden Bosch
Concerned Christian Americans